• Law360
    Practice Group of the Year - Energy
  • Legal 500 US
    Industry Focus - Energy Litigation - Conventional Power, 2018, 2020, 2021
  • American Jewish Committee
    Judge Learned Hand Human Relations Award
  • Mexican-American Legal Defense and Education Fund
    Legal Services Award
  • Chicago Bar Association
    David C. Hilliard Award
  • Catholic Charities
    Award for Service to the Poor
  • H.O.P.E. for the People Award
    Man of the Year


  • University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine and Health System, Board of Trustees, 2007-2016
  • The HistoryMakers, Board of Trustees, 2016-present
  • University of Michigan Law School, Dean’s Advisory Council, 1994-present 
  • Millennium Park Foundation, Board of Directors, 2007-present
  • Lincoln Park Zoo, Board of Directors, 2001-present
  • Latin School of Chicago, Board of Trustees, 2002-2008; 2016-present
  • NJTV Public Television, Board of Directors, 2010-2013
  • Center for Collaborative Change, Board of Directors, 2009-2013
  • Museum of Science & Industry, Board of Directors, 2002-2008
  • Association of General Counsel, 2007-present
    Program Chair, Fall 2007 
  • Northwestern Law School Corporate Counsel Institute, Chair, 2005