Jenner & Block

Patrick W. Pearsall is co-chair of the firm's International Arbitration Practice and chair of its Public International Law Practice. He has extensive experience representing parties in commercial and investment arbitration. He served in the U.S. State Department for nearly a decade and departed as the Chief of Investment Arbitration.

Mr. Pearsall has successfully arbitrated claims involving billions of dollars.  He is often called upon to provide strategic counsel to parties when they face international disputes under investment treaties and has experience with nearly all of the major international commercial arbitration rules.  He is a trusted adviser to Fortune 100 companies and governments alike.  

In addition to his representations, Mr. Pearsall was on a drafting committee for revision of the International Court of Arbitration’s (ICC) rules and led the negotiations of several bilateral and multilateral treaties.  He advised on the negotiation of the investment provisions in the Trans- Pacific Partnership (TPP), the Transatlantic Trade & Investment Partnership, and the U.S.-China Bilateral Investment Treaty.  He is widely recognized as one of the foremost experts on investment protection in the world and is one of the leading authorities on the NAFTA and USMCA investment chapters.  

Mr. Pearsall has received several awards and serves on multiple boards.  He is band ranked in Chambers, recommended in the Legal 500, and in 2019 is listed as the second “Most Highly Regarded” Arbitration Practitioner in the Americas in the peer and client reviewed Who’s Who Legal: Arbitration, where he is recognized as “an incredible advocate,” “whose razor-sharp mind is unmatched” and who is a “leader in public international law and investment treaty arbitration.”

He is an adjunct professor at Georgetown University Law Center where he teaches courses on international courts and tribunals and investment arbitration.  Prior to this appointment, he taught at Columbia Law School, Harvard Law School and Yale Law School.

Mr. Pearsall is on the panel of arbitrators for the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC), the Korean Commercial Arbitration Board (KCAB) and the International Center for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID).