• Illinois Family Violence Coordinating Council
    Justice Benjamin K. Miller Award - namesake and first recipient, 2001
  • Illinois Supreme Court Historic Preservation Commission
    The Honorable George N. Leighton Justice Award, 2010
  • Lawyers' Assistance Program
    Carl H. Rolewick Memorial Award, 1991

Community Involvement

  • Greater Springfield Chamber of Commerce
    President, 1974
    Member, Board of Directors, 1968-1976
  • Illinois State Mental Health Association
    Vice President, 1976
    Member, Board of Directors, 1972-1976
  • Sojourn Women's Center
    Honorary Member, Board of Directors, 1990-present
  • Springfield Boys Club
    Member, Board of Directors, 1970-1978
  • Springfield Mental Health Association
    President, 1970-1972
    Member, Board of Directors, 1964-1978


  • Southern Illinois School of Medicine
    Adjunct Professor, Department of Medical Humanities, 1974-present


  • Illinois Courts Commission
    Chair, 1988-1991
  • Illinois Supreme Court
    Liaison, Conference of Chief Judges, 1984-2001
    Member, Supreme Court Rules Committee, 1986-1994
    Member, Illinois Pattern Jury Instructions-Criminal, 1986-1992
    Member, Illinois Pattern Jury Instructions-Civil, 1992-2000
  • National Conference of Chief Justices
    Member, 1991-1994
    Vice Chair, 1993

Service To The Bar

  • American Bar Association
    Section of Legal Education and Admissions
    Member, Bar Admissions Committee, 1992-2002
  • American Judicature Society
    Member, Board of Directors, 1982-1992
  • Central Illinois Women's Bar Association
    Member, 1976-present
  • Illinois State Bar Association
    Member, 1961-present
    Member, Board of Governors, 1970-1976
    Treasurer, 1974-1976
  • Illinois Trial Lawyers Association
    Member, 1968-1976
  • Sangamon County Bar Association
    Member, 1961-present
  • Women's Bar Association of Illinois
    Member, 1980-present