March 02, 2010

By Jennifer Cassel

On March 4, 2010, Sen. Jay Rockefeller (D.-W. Va.) and Reps. Nick Rahall (D-W. Va.), Rick Boucher (D-Va.) and Alan Mollohan (D-W. Va.) introduced identical bills, S. 3072 and H.R. 4753, that would suspend for two years the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (“EPA”) authority to regulate carbon dioxide (“CO2”) or methane emissions from stationary sources under the federal Clean Air Act, excepting reporting requirements.  The bills, called the “Stationary Source Regulations Delay Act,” would preclude CO2 and methane from being deemed pollutants “subject to regulation under the Clean Air Act” during the two year period of the bills’ effect, regardless of any other law or EPA action.  The bills would not modify EPA’s authority as to emissions from motor vehicles.  On March 4, 2010, H.R. 4753 was referred to the House Committee on Energy and Commerce, and S. 3072 was referred to the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works. 

H.R. 4753 is available at