February 03, 2006

More than 70 Jenner & Block attorneys were recently named Illinois Super Lawyers by Law & Politics in its second annual guide to the "top 5 percent of attorneys" in the state. 

Published in the February 2006 issue of Chicago Magazine, the list was compiled through a four-step procedure, beginning with a general survey of 47,000 Illinois attorneys who have been licensed for five or more years, asking them to nominate the best attorneys they had personally observed in action.  Nominees were scored based on the number of votes they received, with more weight given to votes from outside their own firm. 

The nominees’ names were then verified and reviewed by a team of researchers at Law & Politics, the trade publisher and founder of the Super Lawyers guides.  Each candidate was assigned a point total based on a defined evaluation process of the attorneys’ credentials and good standing with the Supreme Court of Illinois.

The resulting nominees were grouped into more than 50 practice areas, and those with the most points in each area were invited to serve on the “blue ribbon panel.”  The panel members further reviewed and assigned points to the list of nominees in their practice area.  Candidates were then divided according to firm size and geographic location, and the top attorneys were named Super Lawyers.  The list includes private practice attorneys, prosecutors, in-house counsel and public service lawyers. 

Jenner & Block Partners James H. Feldman, Chester T. Kamin, Jerold S. Solovy and Anton R. Valukas are listed among “The Top 100 Illinois Super Lawyers 2006,” which consists of lawyers who received the highest point totals in the balloting, research and blue ribbon review process.  In addition, Linda L. Listrom and Catherine L. Steege are among “The Top 50 Female Illinois Super Lawyers 2006” for the highest point totals. 

The complete list of Jenner & Block Partners to receive this distinction includes:

Listed by Primary Area of Practice

Antitrust Litigation
Shelley Smith

Barry Levenstam
Barry Sullivan

Carter H. Klein

Vincent E. Lazar
Jeff J. Marwil
Daniel R. Murray
Ronald R. Peterson
Catherine L. Steege
Jerry L. Switzer, Jr.
Mark K. Thomas

Business Litigation
Debbie L. Berman
David J. Bradford
Michael T. Brody
Patricia A. Bronte
Robert L. Byman
Timothy J. Chorvat
Richard T. Franch
David M. Greenwald
William D. Heinz
Norman M. Hirsch
Chester T. Kamin
David C. Layden
Susan C. Levy
Linda L. Listrom
Edward F. Malone
Robert T. Markowski
Craig C. Martin
Terri L. Mascherin
Matthew M. Neumeier
David P. Sanders
Lawrence S. Schaner
Barbara S. Steiner
Richard P. Steinken
Seth A. Travis
Anton R. Valukas

Jill Sugar Factor
Elmer W. Johnson
Robert Z. Slaughter

Civil Litigation Defense
Kevin B. Duckworth
Stephanie A. Scharf

Construction Litigation
Joseph G. Bisceglia

Criminal Defense: White Collar
Charles B. Sklarsky

Employee Benefits/ERISA
William L. Scogland

Environmental Litigation
Bill S. Forcade

Environmental/Land Use
Robert L. Graham
E. Lynn Grayson
James A. Vroman

Family Law
James H. Feldman
Tanya J. Stanish

General Litigation
Jeffrey D. Colman
David Jimenez-Ekman
Jerold S. Solovy

Insurance Coverage
David M. Kroeger
John H. Mathias, Jr.
Scott T. Schutte

Intellectual Property
Ronald L. Wanke

Intellectual Property Litigation
Richard J. Gray
Donald R. Harris
Raymond N. Nimrod
Harry J. Roper
C. Steven Tomashefsky

Mergers & Acquisitions
Edward J. Neveril

Real Estate Transactions
Donald S. Horvath
Ronald I. Reicin
Donald I. Resnick

Securities & Corporate Finance
Jerry J. Burgdoerfer
Robert S. Osborne

Securities Litigation
Ronald L. Marmer
Howard S. Suskin
J. Kevin McCall

Arnold S. Harrison
Christian E. Kimball