Our Pro Bono Commitment

Our Pro Bono Commitment

April 14, 2020 Partner Vince Lazar Co-Leads Group that Proposed Bankruptcy Rules Approved by CFTC

Jenner & Block Partner Vincent E. Lazar served as co-chair of the American Bar Association’s Joint Part 190 Rules Subcommittee, a group of lawyers, market participants and regulators who worked to rewrite the Commodity Futures Trading Commission regulations governing commodity broker bankruptcy cases.    

The ABA subcommittee started its work in 2015, formally submitted a new set of proposed rules to the CFTC in 2017, and continued to work with the CFTC thereafter to refine the proposal. On April 14, 2020, the full commission unanimously approved the proposed rules for public comment, with final approval slated for later this summer.  Several commissioners and CFTC leadership recognized the pro bono work of the ABA subcommittee at the April 14 public commission meeting.

To learn more, see the CFTC’s press release here.


PEOPLE: Vincent E. Lazar

June 23, 2016 Firm Wins 2016 Exceptional Service Award from the ABA Death Penalty Representation Project

Death Penalty Pro BonoThe firm has won the 2016 Exceptional Service Award from the ABA Death Penalty Representation Project.  In noting the “exceptionally strong” pool of applicants under consideration this year, the Project’s Awards Committee felt that the breadth of our past and present pro bono commitments, along with our influence on the development of capital punishment law, set us apart.

To read more, please click here to learn more about the firm’s submission for the award.

CATEGORIES: ABA, Awards and Recognitions, Death Penalty

March 1, 2012

A History of Pro Bono and Public Service: 1980s

First Female Chair of ABA Section of Litigation

Joan Hall at the US Supreme Court

In 1982, Partner Joan M. Hall became the first female chair of the American Bar Association Section of Litigation.  That same year, she was the fourth woman elected as a Fellow to the American College of Trial Lawyers.  From 1985 to1991, she served on the ABA’s Federal Judiciary Committee.  After retiring from the practice of law, she went on to be the founder and president of the Board of Directors of the Young Women’s Leadership Charter School of Chicago.  The only all-girls charter public school in the city, the school opened in 2000.

CATEGORIES: A History of Pro Bono and Public Service, ABA, J Hall

January 1, 2011

A History of Pro Bono and Public Service: 1920s

Founder and First Chair of the ABA Antitrust Law Section

Edward R JohnstonEdward R. Johnston, known as the “Chief,” was one of the country’s most prominent antitrust lawyer in the ‘20s.  He formed the Antitrust Section of the American Bar Association and served as its first chair from 1952-1953.   Johnston was made a name partner in 1919, when the firm became Newman, Poppenhusen, Stern & Johnston.

CATEGORIES: A History of Pro Bono and Public Service, ABA

Recent Posts

Matters of Note




Connect With Us

Follow @jennerblockllp