May 26, 2017

Jenner & Block Partner David P. Saunders has been named a 2018 Fellow in the Leadership Greater Chicago (LGC) program.

This 30-year-old leadership development program brings together Chicago’s most promising young people from the business, civic, nonprofit and government sectors to explore key challenges facing the region.  Mr. Saunders is one of 40 individuals who were selected after a highly competitive nomination and interview process.  Through retreats, seminars, and service projects, the participants will meet with civic and community leaders, as well as those who are directly affected by the tough issues impacting the region, from the economy to housing, education, crime, racial identity and diversity, and healthcare.

The program’s purpose is to cultivate a growing and diverse group of leaders for the area by fostering a lifelong commitment to civic engagement on the part of its graduates. Since LGC’s founding, more than 1,000 fellows have gone through the program, , including Cook County State Attorney Kim Foxx, Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan, former US Secretary of Education Arne Duncan, former Cook County State Attorney Anita Alvarez and several Jenner & Block lawyers.

Mr. Saunders is a member of the firm's Complex Commercial Litigation, Privacy and Information Governance, and Class Action Litigation Practices.Mr. Saunders maintains an active pro bono practice, having represented inmates in several actions in state and federal court, including argument before the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals. Mr. Saunders serves as the chair of the Board of Directors of Cabrini Green Legal Aid, where he is also a volunteer. He is also a member of the Sargent Shriver National Center on Poverty Law Professionals’ council and a member of the Seventh Circuit Bar Association’s Board of Governors.

The press release announcing the 2018 LGC class can be found here on LGC’s website.

Other Jenner & Block lawyers who have been selected for this prestigious program include Partners Amanda S. Amert, Matthew D. Basil, Debbie L. Berman, Mercedes M. Hill, Keri L. Holleb Hotaling, Melissa M. Root , John R. Storino and Wade Thomson.