Jenner & Block

Partner Wade Thomson named 2017 Fellow of Leadership Greater Chicago

Jenner & Block Partner Wade A. Thomson has been named a 2017 Fellow in the Leadership Greater Chicago (LGC) program.

This 30-year-old leadership development program brings together Chicago’s most promising young people from the business, civic, nonprofit and government sectors to explore key challenges facing the region.  Mr. Thomson is one of 38 individuals who were selected after a highly competitive nomination and interview process.  Through retreats, seminars, and service projects, the participants will meet with civic and community leaders, as well as those who are directly affected by the tough issues impacting the region, from the economy to housing, education, crime, racial identity and diversity, and healthcare.

The program’s purpose is to cultivate a growing and diverse group of leaders for the area by fostering a lifelong commitment to civic engagement on the part of its graduates. Beginning with its first class in 1984, more than 1,000 fellows have gone through the program, including US Secretary of Education Arne Duncan; Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan; and Valerie Jarrett, senior advisor and assistant to President Obama. 

Mr. Thomson is a member of the firm’s Complex Commercial Litigation and Media and First Amendment Practices and also works closely with the firm’s White Collar Defense & Investigation Practice. He has been recognized as among the “40 Under Forty” Illinois lawyers to watch by the Law Bulletin Publishing Company.  Mr. Thomson serves on the firm’s Hiring and Pro Bono Committees and has received several awards for his pro bono work.  Among other things, Wade is active in immigrant rights advocacy and is the co-chair of the Leadership Board of the National Immigrant Justice Center (NIJC). 

The announcement of the 2017 class can be found here in the Crain's Chicago Business issue, featuring the “Who's Who in Chicago” list of influential members of the community.

Other Jenner & Block lawyers who have been selected for this prestigious program include Partners Amanda S. Amert, Matthew D. Basil, Debbie L. Berman, Mercedes M. Hill, Keri L. Holleb Hotaling, Melissa M. Root, Michael A. Scodro and John R. Storino.